top of page

Might Be a Little Scared!

Today we anounced that we are having another baby. While having one thus far has been fun we have entered the potty training days and with the second on the way due to be here late January ... I hope this one gets out of diapers = I am scared.

Currently our little girl - most nights - screams for mommy (because she knows Daddy goes in and tells her to knock it off and go back to sleep) until mommy comes in to rub her back, hold her hand or take her to the couch where they cuddle for the rest of the evening. My wife is currently trying to adjust this behavior-wonder if my man boobs will be ready to breast feed by the time the second one gets here because wife might still be involved with #1. = I am scared.

Many of people compared our behaviors with our first child to that of a third, never really understood what they ment until seeing other first time parents. Our child has been going into time outs since about the age of 6 months - we don't play games of inappropriate behaviors - they get fixed right away! Many made entertaining comments about me saying that is "inappropriate behavior" to a one year old - she understands it now and is only 2.25 - So if our first child was like our third - yes we let her fall and told her she was ok - yes we let her pick up a binkie and put it back in her mouth - yes we got rid of that thing as fast as we could - WHAT WILL IT BE LIKE FOR THE SECOND? = I am scared.

I am trying to get through my first algebra course that I am going to clep and already finding excuses for why I don't have time to study - I only have one kid now and the entire 120 credits to go = I am scared.

When our daughter was first born I was still running, biking, completing half marathons (ok only 1) and competing in sprint triatholons. I have since randomly continued to bike and run however consistently put on weight - the goal now is to rejoin the excersice group BUT, right now we only have one = I am scared

I used to cook fantastic meals - according to my wife, not just me ;) - I stopped cooking for about 2.25 years since the birth of our first - cooking turned into where do you want to order form - that was with one - what will it be like with two? -sounds like I might be throwing out the no McDonalds rule - oh wait we already went through that line once ...

The amount of love that I get, we get from having only one child is AMAZING!! The hugs, smiles, eyes so large with love, the feeling of being needed to comfort during scary times or injuries is just the most amazing feeling ever. We have a second on the the way and I look forward to having more love, more obstacles and more journeys!

I might be scared but I am looking forward to EVERY moment of it!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page