top of page

Obsessions

Obsession:

an idea or thought that continually preoccupies or intrudes on a person's mind

Isn't the mind just an amazing muscle!

obsessions.jpg

Shoes - Allen Edmonds to be specific is my latest obsession. The dollar only goes so far, do I go with the Dalton Boots with the V Tap Sole?

Do I go with the Rush Street street with the rubber sole and that elegant cap toe?

Do I go with the ever so sexy Bleeker Street Chukka boot with the sole?

Is Allen Edmonds even the best brand for the investment of about $400 for a pair?

Let me check Google. Let me cross reference a gabillion sites to find out who might make a comparable shoe for less of an investment?

Do I not go with an Allen Edmond and instead walk back into Marshals and buy whatever they have there.

I have about three pairs of shoes that are in need of new heels and or to be completely resouled do I just get those resouled.

After a shoe purchase is finally made . . . WHAT'S NEXT???????

The brain is a powerful muscle!

What kind of things do you obsess over that shouldn't be obsession? - Why am I really obsessing over a pair of shoes that in all actuality I would probably pull the trigger on the Bleeker Streets in black & the Rush in brown if I was truly sitting on the cash but I can't do both so which one aaaaahhhhhh

My daughter is fantastic to watch her throw down a scream session to get what she wants must just drive my remarkably patient wife into a frenzy but it generally doesn't. The same obsessive behavior that I have towards the next purchase is the same commitment she has towards . . .

That is just it obsessions are energies channeled into one thought pattern until that result is fulfilled.

Smokers

Drinkers

Shoppers

Readers

Savers

That is five different channels both negative and positive that people can be essentially addicted to and all an addiction is, is an obsession.

So how do we reprogram the thought to go from a negative obsession to a positive?

Instead of spending an hour tonight sitting on the couch "researching" obsessing over which shoes do I really go with STOP - That's it just STOP - PRIORITIZE

Tonight for me will be:

Cuddle with Wife

Do Algebra

Plan tomorrow

Zone out at TV

Go to sleep

In what order that will be doesn't matter as long as I know, there are five positive options to avoid obsessing over shoes that I won't buy today.

Do you have a list of positive priorities that need to get done?

Do you have it written down?

Do you have it in a visible position?

Are you trying to quit smoking, drinking, shopping, eating?

Stickie notes are very useful reminder.

Get happy colors - I suggest using happy colors so that as you are trying to adjust your behavior, the color will make it a positive feeling instead of a negative feeling - Remember YOU WANT to complete more with your life - changing your habits is not a bad thing it is GOOD, GREAT, FANTASTIC!

Take Control and keep obsessing, but towards the positive changes.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page